Breaking Lost Love

Breaking

There we stood firmly hand in hand forever

until we realized our embrace was strangulation

hand in bloody hand we kept on falling together

never giving up as we decayed to separation

.

for I was the stonewall and you were the wind

beating me slowly but ever surely down to dust

though we had fought hard to be together again

we fought harder to watch our stainless hearts rust

.

so I’m sure you remember; I just can’t forget

the way our life once used to be

now we never talk and I’ve come to fret

when you curse out a name it’s me

Lost

rain beat down and this heart poured forth

the darkest of woes that haunted my head

trickling trepidation ’till I lost my North

giving into the vices that I’ve come to dread

.

all alone I came to love the cold and the silence

I wanted the blackest sky to match my soul

it grew into a monster of self-loathing and violence

a beast from the depths I just couldn’t control

.

so I betrayed my brain and my body

splitting and splicing every cell for it’s worth

with lines of scars painted on skin so shoddy

you could almost make out every tear, every word

Love

I’ve come to realize that all wounds must bleed

for better or for worse there are days to cry all night

I now understand there is nothing that I need

more than a beautiful soul to make these wrongs right

.

so I found a flame like nothing here on Earth

a star amongst the void of time and space itself

the brightest in the sky for which I have searched

a gorgeous golden heart of unimaginable wealth

.

and I see the universe deep in her eyes

the same ones I dream of before I fall to slumber

the ones that give me endless butterflies

thinking of her beauty as I wish and I wonder

Leave a comment